I Can’t Be Forgiven for Abu Ghraib – NYTimes.com

The Torture Report Reminds Us of What America Was

image

By ERIC FAIR
DECEMBER 9, 2014 BETHLEHEM, Pa. —
I SPENT this semester teaching creative writing at Lehigh University. I’ve been a soldier, a police officer and an interrogator. So hearing students call me “Professor” and assigning homework was a significant change of pace.

But the course’s title, Writing War, kept me from straying too far from the memories that have haunted me over the last decade. I am grateful to Lehigh for the opportunity to teach the course. The school’s willingness to put a veteran in the classroom is the very thing this country needs to be doing in order to collectively process what the last 13 years of war have wrought. But teaching a class about war reminded me daily that I am no college professor.

I was an interrogator at Abu Ghraib. I tortured.

http://mobile.nytimes.com/2014/12/10/opinion/the-torture-report-reminds-us-of-what-america-was.html

Leave a Reply

