We garb up and glove up and mask up. But we do not give up. Thoughts on Ebola. From a nurse. #SupportTheScrubs

I’ve spent enough time in hospitals to revere nurses. This post is a fine example of why. Thank you Amy K. Sorrells.

Amy K. Sorrells

I’m a nurse.

So I get it.

More than most folks in this country right now, I dare say my co-workers and fellow nurses around the country, we get it.

We.

Get.

Fear.

It’s not new to us, the nagging, lingering anxiety that in our efforts to heal, we will succumb to the very diseases we treat. Working at the bedside is a bit like the old Hotel California … we clock in any time we like, but we never really leave.

So last night I had to shut ‘er down. My TV, my facebook feeds, my Twitter news lists…anything that reminded me of the chaos, the politicalization, the breaches of protocol, the talking heads … most of whom will get nowhere near a single strain of Ebola ever … and the way the media spins sick nurses and hospital administrators overwhelmed with the unthinkable … things which in fact…

View original post 158 more words

Leave a Reply

